Kiwis Log Thumping 80-run Victory over Zimbabwe to Win Only T20 International

August 10 01:24 2015

harareNew Delhi, Monday, August 10 – In the final match of New Zealand tour of Zimbabwe this year, the tourists completely thrashed host as the margin of winning was huge. Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to field first as the motto was to let opponents go back to the dressing room as early as possible and try pouring efforts to win only T20 International. Winning was important as the men in red shirts lost ODI series by 2-1 despite the fact that they could have won it hadn’t they lacked momentum to do so.

At Harare Sports Club, Harare, support for the home-side was massive. It has been a tad long when Zimbabwe won any series. India whitewash them lately in 50-50 over format even when senior players like Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Virat Kohli were given rest during that time. Ajinkya Rahane led the boys perfectly, asking them do their bit in the best way possible.

Kiwis were strong already thanks to the inclusion of Martin Guptill, George Worker, Kane Williamson, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell McClenaghan, Colin Munro and Grant Elliott in the playing XI. Zimbabwe weren’t weak as well in view of the fact that Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva, Graeme Cremer, Prosper Utseya, Chris Mpofu, Taurai Muzarabani, Hamilton Masakadza, Chamu Chibhabha, Craig Ervine, Elton Chigumbura and Sean Williams were to play as a unit.

Toss was though won by Elton Chigumbura-led side but Kiwis made best use of it by scoring a challenging total of 198 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 5 wickets. The opener Guptill exhibited the kind of play he is known in the world of cricket. Off just 24 balls, he attained 33 runs which also included 5 boundaries. New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson attempted to increase the pace of pocketing runs and got 20 runs in 12 balls, sending the ball into the fences for four times. Taurai Muzarabani got his wicket on the first ball of fourth over, giving Kiwis the first jolt. Guptill was dismissed in the middle of 9th over on a delivery of Sean Williams when Raza did not make mistake to take a good catch.

Elliot’s stint was short as he just scored eight runs in 9 balls, with no sixes or fours. George Worker held the fort and his bombardment imparted huge role in sending Zimbabwe on the back seat. With four biggies and three boundaries, he played a knock of 62 runs in 38 balls with strike rate of 163.2. Williams earned his wicket otherwise anything over 200 runs seemed much obtainable on the scoreboard.

The bowler also dismissed wicketkeeper-batsman Luke Ronchi at 29 runs (4 x 2 and 6 x 1). Colin Munro and Nathan McCullum were unbeaten at the scores of 23 runs in 11 balls and 18 runs off 7 balls. The attacking approach of the lower-order helped New Zealand set a tough total to chase for Zimbabwe, for whom batting without losing wicket early was a challenge as far as earlier performances were kept in mind.

The opener Hamilton Masakadza and Chamu Chibhabha were out at 6 runs apiece. Craig Ervine fell short to Elliott post scoring 42 runs. Sikandar Raza was dismissed at 8 runs. Chigumbura was caught by Munro after adding a couple of runs. Ish Sodhi took a brilliant catch of Sean Williams at 16 runs. Regis Chakabva, the wicketkeeper at 13 runs. Graeme Cremer was out at 5 runs. Prosper Utseya and Chris Mpofu were unbeaten correspondingly at 2 and 6 runs. For the loss of 8 wickets, Zimbabwe could only manage to score 118 runs in 120 balls. 12 extras were bowled by the Kiwis but that didn’t harm them in any case. Now post ODI and T20 win, New Zealand are to fly back home with their heads held high as the short tour came to an end on Sunday, August 9.