Bilal Asif Excels as Pakistan Thrash Zimbabwe in Final ODI to Win Series by 2-1

October 06 02:57 2015

pakistanNew Delhi, Tuesday, October 6 – Zimbabwe and Pakistan were keenly eying to conclude 3-Match ODI series with a triumph as this was necessary to lift the winner’s trophy at the end. And, Pakistan got success in thrashing the hosts by seven wickets in the contest played a day ago at Harare Sports Club in Harare.

An exciting match was likely since Zimbabwe and Pakistan won one match apiece in the previous matches. The guests won the toss and elected to bowl first in the last blow. Objective was to restrict Zimbabwe at a score which could be attained easily and Pakistan were able to do that after the action began between the two squads at a place which hosted the T20 series as well that was won by 2-0 by Pakistan.

The 3-match ODI series entered into an interesting phase as soon as the host managed to level series against the opponents beating them by  5 runs on D/L method. It was their first win in 4 matches. The hosts looked forward to winning the final one and seal ODI series and send Pakistan back to home with just a trophy of shortest format.

While batting first, Zimbabwe players could only score 161 runs with an average of 4.15 runs per over. All 10 men were back to the pavilion in 38.5 over. Given that they failed to put a challenging total on the score board, it was extremely tough to think of defending the target. The opening pair Chamu Chibhabha and Richmond Mutumbami correspondingly scored 48 runs (4 x 5)  and 67 runs (4 x 5) before falling short to Bilal Asif and Mohammed Irfan, respectively.

Brian Chari, the wicketkeeper batsman, was lbw by Imad Wasim at a score of 4. Sean Williams caught by Bilal Asif, who stunned him with his quickness post bowling a delivery. The batsman pocketed 5 runs in 6 balls, including a four. Elton Chigumbura, the captain of Zimbabwe was dismiised by Bilal Asif  at a zero. The bowler also got wicket of Sikandar Raza at 2 runs and Tinotenda Mutombodzi at 4 runs. Both Malcolm Waller and Tinashe Panyangara  succumbed to Imad Wasim at 8 runs that were attained in 15 balls and at a naught, respectively.

John Nyumbu threw his wicket to Shoaib Malik at 4 runs. Luke Jongwe played a not out knock of 16 runs in 16 balls, inclusive of a four.  Bilal Asif got five wickets, Wasim three, whereas Irfan and Malik got 1 wicket each. Aamer Yamin and Wahab Riaz didn’t get any wicket.  Pakistan chased the target in 34 overs for the loss of three wickets. Ahmed Shehzad was stumped by Chari in Sean Williams’ over but he contributed 32 runs in the team’s total score. Two boundaries were hit by the opener. Bilal Asif was outstanding with bat as well given that he attained 38 runs in 39 balls with the help of six fours and a biggie. John Nyumbu ended his impressive stint.

Mohammad Hafeez was out by Panyangara at 13 runs, comprising a couple of shots. Asad Shafiq, who was not out at 38 runs (4 x 2), and Shoaib Malik, unbeaten at 34 runs (4 x 5 and 6 x 1), lent a hand to let Pak camp taste another success and go back home with their heads held high. The victory has certainly made them move confidently towards the future and feel strong against the powerhouses too. On the other hand, Zimbabwe would need to rest for a while and think of how to capitalize the chance of winning when they are just a few inches away to log success. Man of the Series award was given to Chamu Chibhabha and Shoaib Malik for their substantial contribution in their team’s performance.