Steven Smith-Led Aussies Beat Ireland by 23 Runs in Rain-Curtailed Match

August 28 03:00 2015

davidNew Delhi, Friday, August 28 – The Aussies sent Ireland on the back foot in a rain-curtailed match on Thursday at Civil Service Cricket Club, Belfast. Australia were on tour of Ireland to play the only One-Day International match.

Post winning the toss, Australian skipper Steven Smith elected to bat first. The openers Joe Burns, who scored 69 runs off 70 balls, including seven fours and a six, and David Warner, who pocketed 84 runs beautifully in 80 balls, together with 7 4s and 3 biggies, did not disappoint him.

The solid opening took the visitors on a strong position. But soon partnership was broken, making Smith to arrive on the crease. S Thompson left no room for error while taking his wicket when the young captain was  batting at an individual total of 21 runs with a strike rate of 55.3 (4  x 1).

George Bailey and Glenn Maxwell were out at 1 and 2 runs, respectively. Mitchell Marsh tried speeding the pace of scoring runs and sent the ball into the fences for once to get 11 runs in 15 balls but John Mooney made no mistake to get him as early as possible. Shane Watson was not out at 26 runs that were attained in 25 balls, inclusive of a six and a four. Wicketkeeper batsman Matthew Wade was unbeaten at 2 runs. Since rain continued to affect the match, Australia could bat just for 40.2 overs and scored 222 runs for the loss of 6 wickets.

Problems increased for the Ireland as they had to chase considerable total of 181 runs in 24 overs due to rain. The pressure was huge in the beginning. The opening duo William Porterfield and Paul Stirling were dismissed at 4 and 0 runs, respectively. Ed Joyce (44 runs in 33 balls; 4 x 2 and 6 x 1)  held the fort along with wicketkeeper Niall O’Brien (45 runs in 53 balls; 4 x 5)  before falling short to Maxwell. Wickets continued to fall as Andrew Balbirnie was out for 12 runs and Gary Wilson at 1 run.

Stuart Thompson showed some resistance and pocketed 24 runs in 16 balls, comprising a couple of sixes, before his stint was ended by Mitchell Starc. John Mooney was run out by Bailey at  a naught. Andy McBrine was dismissed at seven runs. Craig Young was out for a duck, while Tim Murtagh was not out at 2 runs in 2 balls. Australia won the match by 23 runs after the host was all out in 23.4 overs at 157 runs. David Warner was given ‘man of the match’ award for his contribution of highest runs in the yesterday’s contest.